Thread: Log Cabin Stain/Seal

Default Log Cabin Stain/Seal

Alright I'm sure this has been beat up on here but I suck at navigating the search on this page. I need to get some stain or sealant on my logs before the season turns colds. What stuff would folks recommend for the lowest maintenance possible? Might be moving out of state for a few years so using something that doesn't need to be reapplied every season is a bonus. I have been told everything from Permachink $100 a gallon stuff too $20 dollar a gallon CWF from home depot. What would you recommend??

Thanks,

A contractor friend of mine swears by some stuff called "Sikkens". SBS carries it. Also I like what is called ABR X100. It's a two part system....pre finish/finish. Sherwin Williams can get it for you.
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

I just stained our cabin, we used Superdeck log home oil finish. I am no expert but I think you want to stay away from water based urethanes. It came out well, we used a weed sprayer for a faster application and then brushed it. If and when I do it again I will get an electric spray gun. We applied a lot of stain and I was weary it would get sticky, it has not. It really absorbed into the wood nice and should protect it well. Time will tell.

I believe Home Depot sells it, I bought if off a gentlemen that had 5 gallons left over for $100 bill. The 5 gallons did the whole cabin with some left over.

Id post pictures but I guess they are too big...

Quote Originally Posted by 4merguide View Post
    A contractor friend of mine swears by some stuff called "Sikkens". SBS carries it. Also I like what is called ABR X100. It's a two part system....pre finish/finish. Sherwin Williams can get it for you.

That's what we used on our cabin. Got it from SBS. We were happy with it.

Quote Originally Posted by MTfisher View Post