Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 35 vs 338

An old debate, but I'd appreciate any direct experience:

I have an old .270 I plan to rebarrel, trying to decide between 338-06 and 35 Whelen.

I plan to shoot 225s out of the new build, primarily for moose and for deer in brownie territory. (I have an '06, usually shoot 180s.)

Will probably go with a 21 or 22 inch barrel.

I'm new to reloading, but plan to load for this rifle, so am not concerned about commercial ammo availability.

What's your take?

Ok,,,,, well if it were me, I'd send it down to Jess in Cottage-Grove OR., just have your existing Barrel Cut too 22" and Bored for the .35 Whelen, get some appropriate loading equipment, and your set to go,,, Easy-Peasy.
    TG
    [ USMC 1st Marine Div. 7th Engineers, VietNam 69-71, Semper-Fi ] :topjob:

Comment

Originally posted by The German View Post
      Ok,,,,, well if it were me, I'd send it down to Jess in Cottage-Grove OR., just have your existing Barrel Cut too 22" and Bored for the .35 Whelen, get some appropriate loading equipment, and your set to go,,, Easy-Peasy.
      TG
      Any discussion on why Whelen vs 338-06? I plan to rebarrel for a variety of reasons, but if I went the rebore route JES could do either caliber.

Comment

.35 Whelen was once factory loaded so if you needed ammo in a pinch you might find some. There was a box on the shelf of the Native store in Elim back in 1999. Why, I don't know as I was probably the only one there with a .35 Whelen. There are only 2-3 manufacture's of .338/06 that I see, the expensive brands.. With the Whelen I can load .357 pistol bullets for small game right up to 300 grains. I have settled on 225's for the every day game round now. It makes a nice big hole, doesn't damage a lot of meat and is easy to reload.

Patriot Life Member NRA
        Life Member Veterans of Foreign Wars
        Life Member Disabled American Veterans

Comment