X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Feds vs. State

http://www.adn.com/2011/03/08/174381...k-alaskas.html

Interesting read..........

What else is new. Federal Govt. at its finest...
    "Ya can't stop a bad guy with a middle finger and a bag of quarters!!!!"- Ted Nugent.

Comment

I'm new to this state and am not up on why the Federal Government has such a large foot hold in this state vs. the rest of the country. After moving here, I am increasingly apalled at how much land they have tied up in NP's. I can understand preserving places and that's cool but why not just settle for a wilderness area? The lower 48's protected areas are mostly in the form of wilderness areas that still allow hunting and what not. Sure there are some NP's but nothing like up here.

Why doesn't Alaska tell them to take a hike and do what they want with "THEIR" state. It seems kind of backwards to have a self governing state (for the most part), yet not have control or say over huge portions of your own land.

Why did Alaska agree to give up so much of it's land to the Feds?

Sorry if these are stupid questions.

Comment

The rural subsistance users made a deal with the devil a few years back and the devil is coming to collect. Did they really think the Feds would be better stewards of the subsistance live style. Hungry on unimak island eat a wolf.
        Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming-----WOW-----what a ride!
        Unknown author

Comment

And some interesting bedfellows..........
          http://action.defenders.org/site/Pag...5ofdt1.app226a
          http://savethewolf.net/stop-the-unimak-wolf-cull/
          http://www.friendsofanimals.org/news...nd-alaska.html