No announcement yet.

What kind of wing covers do you prefer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What kind of wing covers do you prefer?

I have a Cessna 170A. I'm new to flying. My wing and cowling covers are shot. Locally, I see a set of 4 yr old unused polyester covers for sale and a set of used kennon mesh covers with spoilers. I see kennon recommends against mesh if freeze thaw is a big issue. Right now its in willow, but hopefully soon, I'll get it to Wasilla if location sways your opinion. Thanks

mesh/spoilers for sure

Comment

I've used both and while the mesh covers have their advantages, I've had them freeze so hard to the wing that I had to put it in a hanger overnight to get them, and the ice, off. Never had that happen with the polyester covers.

Comment

Here is Homer we get rain, ice , and snow with sea winds. So the mesh covers freeze to your wings.
        But a place with dry snow and cold wind just begs for spoilers and mesh.
        Float-CFI, Photo Guide, Fishing Guide, Remote Kayaking
        Guest Cabin, Flight Reviews, Aerial Tours

Comment

I have saw nylon covers damage more than one aircraft. One was Cessna ailerons bent up about 90 deg.
          Only once had mesh freeze down hard enough couldn't break them free. Small price to pay IMO

different strokes 4 different folks.

Comment

I have had the Alaska Wing covers with the vent slot the length of the wing. Really like them. Easy hook connections and perform well in the occasional windy conditions. Slots do, on occasion, ice down but very minimal, otherwise they have perform well for over 6 years.

Comment