What kind of meat wagon?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What kind of meat wagon?

I am new to this whole ATV thing and I am wondering what kind of meat wagons do most guys use or at least what characteristics to look for. I saw one at Fred Meyers for around 380.00 but it didn't look like it had good ground clearance. Any advice?

First and most importantly in my opinion is it must be able to keep water off my gear, second it should not be any wider than your machine, and lastly it should have sufficient ground clearance. I also like mine to have places where I can put spare gas and have rails or some way to last stuff to the top without it falling off but these are just personal preferences.

Comment

Also....

full size (width) ATV tires. You want the trailer to be able to float like the wheeler will. Nothing will get you stuck faster than a bottomed out, loaded trailer dragging through a mud hole! If you have any experience at welding, I would recommend building your own. They are simple to build and you can do it for less than that $389 POJ at Freddies.

Steel - easy to work with, much cheaper than aluminum but heavier.

Aluminum - not as many folks can weld it (or are set up to), expensive and a little lighter (not as durable) than steel.

My trailer is a steel frame with 1/2" plywood box. Box dimensions are 2'x2'x4'. It isn't as big as a lot of trailers, but then I don't have to worry about overloading it as much. Low center of gravity is VERY important as well.
      AKmud
      sigpic

The porcupine is a peaceful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

Comment

The Pac Rat from Plaschem in Anchorage sets the standard. You can also fit it with ski's in winter.
        "96% of all Internet Quotes are suspect and the remaining 4% are fiction."
        ~~Abraham Lincoln~~

Comment

$$$$

Originally posted by Akres