Bear def

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bear def

My father asked me to pose this question to yall. He’s planning on a hiking trip, and is asking for a critique on his plans.

Greetings and thanks to those hosting this forum, and those that are offering their council on these life and death issues.

Im hiking into the Alaskan wilderness for the first time. I have some knowledge of firearms as a self defense instructor but we’re talking bears not people here.
    this is what I’m going to do for my self defense for bears when I go.

first, I will have one or two dogs with me, preferably two, to act as warnings and initial distraction to give me time to bring my guns to bear on the bear(no pun intended).
    the gun I am choosing as a sidearm that will be on my person every step of the way is a Draco AK47 type handgun with a 30 round magazine, loaded with 154gr 7.62x39 cartridges.
    secondly, I will have in my backpack within reach a pistol gripped 12 ga shotgun, loaded with 4 buck buckshot and rifled slugs.

I would appreciate any constructive criticisms on my plans, and thank you in advance for your time and repsonses.

heres hoping to survive a hike in the beautiful state of Alaska.
    Enness

Originally posted by arnoldr45 View Post
    My father asked me to pose this question to yall. He’s planning on a hiking trip, and is asking for a critique on his plans.

Greetings and thanks to those hosting this forum, and those that are offering their council on these life and death issues.

Im hiking into the Alaskan wilderness for the first time. I have some knowledge of firearms as a self defense instructor but we’re talking bears not people here.
    this is what I’m going to do for my self defense for bears when I go.

first, I will have one or two dogs with me, preferably two, to act as warnings and initial distraction to give me time to bring my guns to bear on the bear(no pun intended).