Thinking of moving back to Alaska

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking of moving back to Alaska

Sorry for the long read, but here goes: So I have sort of a love - hate relationship with Alaska. I moved up there a few years ago after spending a few summers there while still in college. Those summers were some of the best times of my life, lived out of a tent a good chunk of the time and nothing but fishing and hiking since I was a poor college kid. I decided once I graduated I'd move up there from Wisconsin. I took a 30 hr/ week job in Palmer and moved up there. At the time jobs were hard to find for non residents due to oil slowing down. Once I established residency there, job offers got easier and I was offered a good paying job in Fairbanks after a few months in Palmer.

So I moved to Fairbanks and spent all my time from May - September working 7 days a week, 12 hr plus a day in a very remote area. I only had a few days off the whole summer but the money was amazing, the most I'd ever seen in my life and I didnít mind the work. I never got to fish for salmon or halibut, which was kind of the whole point of moving to Alaska. I also missed the good hunting seasons in August & September. I did get to fish for grayling after work if I wanted but that's not the most exciting thing for me. Then I spent September - the following spring living and working in Fairbanks which I did not care for. Fairbanks was a nice city, but not my favorite place. Coming from Wisconsin where there is lakes and rivers everywhere with great fishing, I saw the fishing in Fairbanks was fairly limited. Also for decent hunting it required a decent drive to get out of town and away from some of the people. I was not a fan of the bad air in the winter, the ice fog, and extreme cold (-45 or more).