• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• canning lids

can you reuse lids on kerr canning jars? and get them to seal
    Visions Steel/841-WELD(9353)
    "Rebellion is in my blood, I was born an American"
    Μολών λαβέ

Don't do it. It won't be worth the effort with maybe a third of them sealing. You can reuse the rings but not the selaed rubber coated tops.
    If a dipnetter dips a fish and there is no one around to see/hear it, Did he really dip? ALASKADIPNETTING.NET

Comment

thank you ken I am new to all this, but after canning my dipped fish thats the only way I will put them up from now on
      Μολών λαβέ

Comment

Any questions, just PM me. They sell for a nominal fee lids. Just hang on to your caps that screw down. They can be reused. Did you smoke or just do plain? When I get my thing going this summer, I will call you to come over and take a gander. I get a big process going and it works well.
        If a dipnetter dips a fish and there is no one around to see/hear it, Did he really dip? ALASKADIPNETTING.NET

Comment

Thanks Ken I have also been wondering about this lately
          Tomorrow isn't promised. "Never delay kissing a pretty girl or opening a bottle of whiskey." E. Hemingway

Comment

so all the used ones I guess we will put over the top of parafin for jams and alike. We are building a wheel for the copper I am hoping to have the operation going on too. A few in the group have large pressure cookers and are going to loan them to each other so the prosessing speeds up. Maybe I will have to get you to come put on a presentation for me, for members to learn from, would ya be up to that maybe?
            Μολών λαβέ

Comment

Originally posted by thewhop2000 View Post
              Don't do it. It won't be worth the effort with maybe a third of them sealing. You can reuse the rings but not the selaed rubber coated tops.
              I agree, canning is too much work to risk a leaky lid.