Roma tomatoes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roma tomatoes?

Do Roma tomatoes grow well in Alaska (Wasilla region)? What variety would be best? Do they need to be in a greenhouse?

Click image for larger version  Name:	image_86379.jpg Views:	4 Size:	38.2 KB ID:	2766449 Click image for larger version  Name:	image_86381.jpg Views:	4 Size:	130.1 KB ID:	2766450
    I have no experience with Romas however i do grow Celebrities in a greenhouse with no additional lighting. This one plant produced at least 75 lbs of fruit this year, pickings like this happen 2-3 times a week and she lasted till mid November.

Comment

Originally posted by kaybur
      Tomatoes love warmth, so of course, if you want a healthy crop, you need to take varieties that are resistant to cold. Greenhouses need phytolamps for better growth. You can order some of the ones offered here. In Alaska, there is less light, therefore it is better to provide high-quality lighting immediately.
      I have heat and a discharge fan for cooling in my greenhouse. No need for phytolamps in a greenhouse up here. In Alaska, there is much more light in the summer months so I don't understand your statement. My tomatoes are top notch.
      Someday someone may kill you with your own gun, but they should have to beat you to death with it because it is empty.

Comment

Originally posted by Doug in Alaska View Post
        No need for phytolamps in a greenhouse up here. In Alaska, there is much more light in the summer months so I don't understand your statement.