Selecting a pup from a litter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Selecting a pup from a litter

My wife and I have settled on a breed and a breeder, and the pups were born on February 2nd. We have the second choice out of 7 pups, so now we're faced with how to make that selection. We're mostly indifferent about the sex, as we've gotten ample feedback from folks in both directions. For every person that says they'd only ever own a male, we get another that says the same about females. So...not too concerned on that, though my wife likes the idea of a larger dog.

Our priority is probably the dog's personality, as we want one that is relatively mellow and well behaved. I'm new to dog ownership, but I assume this has more to do with training than with a dog's innate temperament.

So, how do you folks pick a dog when you have your choice of multiple littermates? I'm not likely to train the dog for bird hunting, but rather want a good family dog. Any tips on picking one out, or is it a bit of a crapshoot?

Originally posted by Brian M View Post
    My wife and I have settled on a breed and a breeder, and the pups were born on February 2nd. We have the second choice out of 7 pups, so now we're faced with how to make that selection. We're mostly indifferent about the sex, as we've gotten ample feedback from folks in both directions. For every person that says they'd only ever own a male, we get another that says the same about females. So...not too concerned on that, though my wife likes the idea of a larger dog.

Our priority is probably the dog's personality, as we want one that is relatively mellow and well behaved. I'm new to dog ownership, but I assume this has more to do with training than with a dog's innate temperament.

So, how do you folks pick a dog when you have your choice of multiple littermates? I'm not likely to train the dog for bird hunting, but rather want a good family dog. Any tips on picking one out, or is it a bit of a crapshoot?