X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New e-books on Alaska Meat and Trophy Care

Hi folks,

Some of you are aware that I've been teaching Alaska meat and trophy care for over 25 years, and that I've written about it extensively about it in our Field Care Section, which covers several pages on the tools for meat and trophy care, how to take care of game meat in camp, on the river, and in transit back from your hunt, fleshing information, how much salt to use and the field care of your trophies.

For several years I have been working on a new book on the field care of Alaska big-game meat and trophies, and I'm pleased to announce that this brand-new resource was released two weeks ago, on August 19th. I intended to produce a hard copy for hunters to take into the field, but in order to keep costs down have opted instead to release it in the e-book format. It's available on both Amazon Kindle and on the Apple Books platform. A lot of hunters are taking books into the field on their iPads and Kindle devices these days, so this should work nicely.

When I released "Float Hunting Alaska's Wild Rivers" back in 2007, it filled a previously empty niche in the Alaska hunting genre. But at 550 pages, it was too big to take into the field. This time I wanted something more manageable, but as I wrote the Alaska Field Care Manual I realized that it was going to be large as well. While I think I've gotten better at writing more concisely over the years, this time the material needed lots of illustrations; photos, charts, graphs, tables, and other graphics in order to tell the story completely. So despite my best efforts, it ended up being over 430 pages anyway. To make the material easier to navigate, I opted to release the "Alaska Field Care Manual" in two volumes. Here's an overview:
    Alaska Field Care Manual, Vol. I