waterproof soft gun case

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• waterproof soft gun case

I am doing a brooks range float hunt in sept. and i am concerned about my wood stocked rifle. This is a 14 day float. Is there a need for a "waterproof" (as in dry bag ) sleeve or is water resistant enough? Is this an issue I should even be worried about? I have no experience with keeping a scoped, wood stocked rifle out in the elements for 2 weeks straight. Any info on how you all do it would be greatly appreciated. thanks

gun sleeve

I used a Koplin plastic one on my Prince of Wales hunt in spring 2005. It rained almost every day and the boat kept the sea spray on us. I used this gun sleeve with a standard soft sided case. When we would hit the beach to chase a bear, I would just uncase it and pull it out. Gave the gun a quick wipe down every night or so with some oil. No rust issues... I bought it at Boondocks in Eagle River. Was about 25-30 bucks.
    Psalm 18:34
    He trains my hands for war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze.

Comment

thanks, i had a similar thing in mind maybe with a desicant pack in it. The gun should be out often and wiping down every eve and casing it with the desicant should dry it out.
      Anyone else?

Comment

wet rifle

It's gonna happen if you're huntin' sheep. Long ago I went to synthetic stocks and stainless steel. I dry it as best as I can every night before wraping it up in a plastic garbage sack, dry or at least wipe off all the standing water in the morning after leaving the tent (the rifle lives outside since there is no room in the tent for Mr. Rifle) and try to let the wind and sun get to it when available to dry things out...before the next soaking...but sometimes that's sheep hunting: the good, the bad, and the ugly. Wooden stocks and blued steel can be used only it's a lot more worry and work to keep things functioning till it's time to shoot.
        "Actions speak louder than words - 'nough said"

Comment