TOK MGT Area DS102 questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TOK MGT Area DS102 questions

Looking for any info about West Fork Robertson R area in 20D for my solo sheep hunt in mid August; drop off by Golden Eagle Outfitters. Should I glass low for awhile and if no sightings then go high, or go high at start? What drainage to use? Hunt high or low? Best access to get high? Info on bugs, bears, temps, water crossings, salt or no salt? Thinking about stashing small dry bag with replenish supplies at drop zone to cut weight since solo. I've been chasing these majestic beasts over the years, and hope this is the year of a great harvest. Thanks for the help .

I have no sheep hunt experience but since you cant hunt any ways the first day since you are flying maybe talk to the pilot to see if you can do a hot lap or 2 around the area before you land. That way you can get a birds eye view of the area and also see what mountains/valleys the sheep are in.
    I will never be a "Prostaffer" its not that I am not good enough
    but its because I refuse to pimp products for free.

Comment

Originally posted by kwackkillncrew View Post
      I have no sheep hunt experience but since you cant hunt any ways the first day since you are flying maybe talk to the pilot to see if you can do a hot lap or 2 around the area before you land. That way you can get a birds eye view of the area and also see what mountains/valleys the sheep are in.
      Have they repealed the law that made scouting sheep from the air illegal? I haven't been keeping up on this for the last few years. Was pretty controversial at the time, and difficult to enforce.

However, if you can spare the time and money, it would be worth scouting in late July. Sheep shouldn't be too far from where you see them that time of year.

Comment

Originally posted by kwackkillncrew View Post