Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Double Rifles in Alaska?

Gents:
    Do any of you hunt with double rifles here in Alaska? Vintage or modern? Calibers?
    Doubles are my passion and I have been shooting them exclusively for 20+ years. I've taken them overseas on 14 trips and now shoot my yearly caribou with a .450-400 and my moose this year was taken with an old .600 nitro express.
    The double rifle group has yearly shoots in the warm temps and any and all are invited.
    Just curious.
    Cal

Hey Cal. I used my 450-400 Alex Henry hammer gun on a black bear hunt. About it as most of my hunts are too tough to take a $5000 rifle on.

Comment

Vince Baldhauff w/ Precision Arms is a Krieghoff distributor for up here. He's fun to talk to about doubles. It's just the sad truth that no one makes a double that isn't a "luxury" rifle, although they would be awesome in a lot of circumstances. If they would make a stainless 375 H&H double with a synthetic stock for $2000 or less, I would buy two.
      Alaskan expat, civil engineer, FAA consultant.

Comment

I don't shoot a double rifle, but just wanted to say hello to my favorite high school social studies teacher. Hope you are doing well Mr. Pappas!!

Comment

I've shot doubles in the past (friend's rifle) and know a couple guides who use one. But I just wanted to jump in here and say hi, Cal.

Was a pleasure to meet you this past fall when I was working at Happy Valley. Congrats on your successful caribou hunt! Glad I could help get all the meat and antlers in your rig for the trip back. And that we could pull you guys out early. Not very often we get a call in the morning for an early pickup and we can get you the same day.

Also want to thank you for the tip your group left, appreciate it.

Best,

Mark Richards
          www.residenthuntersofalaska.org

Comment