MSR Wing Shelters

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MSR Wing Shelters

Has anyone used the "River Wing" version of the MSR shelters? They are about 18x18. I'm looking to get one and wanted to know if they are worth the $400.
    Attached Files

I take my older MSR Parawing on most float trips. Worth it's weight in gold if it rains much. Sucks sitting around in the rain all evening. Only thing worse than that is retiring to the tent of course.

The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

Comment

I've been using the Outfitter Wing for a few years now and I agree with Dan. Nothing like a large covered area in camp. Of course you've got to watch it in the wind, but we just pull the poles down and tighten up the guy lines and it makes a great cover for our gear. I mostly use mine for my kitchen.

It only comes with two poles, so I supplement with some spare extendable tent poles. They're cheap, so no worries if one bends.

The one you're looking at is a very similar design.

And no, it's not like just using a tarp.

-Mike
      Michael Strahan
      Site Owner
      Alaska Hunt Consultant
      1 (907) 229-4501

Comment

Originally posted by Kusko View Post
        Has anyone used the "River Wing" version of the MSR shelters? They are about 18x18. I'm looking to get one and wanted to know if they are worth the $400.
        Are these shelters useful? Under certain conditions or modes of travel, I'll say yes.

Are they worth $400? To some I suppose, the answer is yes... but not to me.

This wing thing stuff offers very minimal protection. Main issue is in the wind or wind-driven rains/sleet/snow. It's also relatively light-duty fabric for draping over/atop gear.