Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• left eyed, but right handed

First off, I'm new to bowhunting.

I used to shoot for hours on end when I was a kid in the backyard with a little 20lb recurve, but haven't touched one since then until this fall. I decided that I want to give bowhunting a try and I'm really excited about it. I know that I'm left eye dominant, but I grew up shooting both guns and bows right handed, so I bought a used right handed bow, shot several times a week for a few months and took the bowhunter certifcation class.

Shooting a gun wrong-eyed hasn't posed much of a problem for me, I just close my left eye. I'm doing the same thing with the bow and it works OK at the range or in the backyard at 20-30yds, but I'm worried at longer distances using only the right eye could hamper my ability to focus on what I need to hit quickly.

I don't really want to re-learn shooting a bow, but if it makes a big difference I'd prefer to do it now rather than wait until it's even more ingrained.

Do any of you shoot wrong eyed? Have you switched from one to the other and found it made a big difference?

Thanks!
    Chris

As a NASP instructor i can tell you that it is possible to shoot "wrong" eyed dominant with your "wrong" hand If you have learned to to shoot right handed even if your left eye dominant. as long as your steady and have compinsated by closing your eye or wearing an eye patch. If you have not tryed shooting a left handed bow you might want to try it. It is not "re-learning" as you would be concerned with. If you want to try shooting left handed I am left handed and would be willing to go to the range with you and let you shoot a left handed bow to see if it makes you feel more comforatable with your shot.
    He who don't float. Don't follow the ARGO!

Comment

learn to shoot with both eyes open if you can. if you are consistent at 20-30 yards you should be fine at longer ranges as long as you can still see your target.

Comment