Quartz and birch lake ice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quartz and birch lake ice

Hello My Alaska Fishing Forum "Family" I have started this thread for those of us who are waiting for the ice to back off around 10-15 feet for the best fishing of the year.If anyone knows of the ice backing up at all they should post it on here.Thank you once again.
    There's a fine line between fishing....

and standing on the shore like an idiot! ALLEN BRADLEY-TANGLE LAKES ADVOCATE/FANBOY

Okay I talked to the Delta branch of Fish and game and they say around saturday break-up fishing should be a go.I will be heading that way and hopefully I see a few of you lol.

and standing on the shore like an idiot! ALLEN BRADLEY-TANGLE LAKES ADVOCATE/FANBOY

Comment

Heck, I'm waiting on anything that will allow me to "feel the wiggle". I'm new to AK and am anxiously awaiting for these interior lakes to open up. If the local lakes on/around Eielson are any indication, I don't see a lot of open water by Saturday. I'm seeing a couple feet of water around the edges but it refreezes every night. In fact, I saw an Eskimo Quickfish III portable shanty on Bathing Beauty Pond just the other day!

All I can do is prep my pontoon boat, fly rods and other gear....and that's already done. My eastern WA buddies have been hammering them since the first week of March, so at least I get lots of reports to salivate over!

I'm reading that Piledriver Slough and the upper Chena are opening up well, and suspect I'll be tossing flies to grayling before anything else.

Comment

P.S. As a tenderfoot, I just have to ask......is it normal for ice to remain on interior lakes into mid-May?

Comment

Originally posted by Raffpappy View Post
          P.S. As a tenderfoot, I just have to ask......is it normal for ice to remain on interior lakes into mid-May?