Thread: new lab puppy

Default new lab puppy

hey everyone this is my first time on this waterfowl section of the website. I am really interested in duck hunting and just got an 8 week old registered black lab. I am looking for training tips, advice, and anything else to do with ensuring that I end up with a good duck hunting dog!!! thanks for any feedback!

Wink Pictures!

Puppy lovers need pictures, please.

Default pictures

I do have some pictures but am a little computer challenged if you know what i mean. Haven't quite figure out how to post pictures on here yet.

I was also wondering about some good spots around fairbanks to try out my first duck hunting excursion. I have atv, snowmachine, and scanoe with outboard access. Also, can my dog be cross trained to grouse hunt and duck hunt. I am pretty much starting with no knowledge on dog training or duck hunting.

Default Search

AKARMY:

You could try the search feature for training info. Type in dog trainer.

Good Luck

Default Retriever training

There are several very talented professional trainers here in the Fairbanks area. One is surely one of the best trainers in the entire country. He spends the winter training full time in Texas and Oklahoma, but is here all summer. Ohers spend the whole year here and even if just used as occasional tune-up help, they can really help you maximize your success with a young dog. Well trained dogs can truly make the hunts and time in the field so much more fun.

I'd be happy to share contact names with you but don't want to post their info online just in case they wouldn't want that. Feel free to email me and I'll help you connect. There are a couple very good gun dog groups in Fairbanks as well that I think you would enjoy, not only for the great help in training, but to also meet great folks that enjoy the same outdoors fun as you. You'll find everyone very helpful and welcoming and they really want everyone's dog to succeed...just pure fun!