Thread: Opportunity or Setback

Default Opportunity or Setback

Looking for advise from the folks in, around, or retired from the industry. Really, how did you get to today, and was the juice worth the squeeze.

I have a college fund from the VA, which will pay for the majority of school, plus housing. I recently enrolled for UAA professional piloting program. Now, my goal isn't to become some airline pilot. I just enjoy flying, and want my commercial, CFI is a plus that I would use. I'm not wanting to make a "career" of it. I know that pilots really struggle for the first 9/10's of their career. I enjoy teaching (I was an instructor in the military), love aviation, and want to be compensated for more than just half a tank a gas.
    I am fairly new in real estate, making decent money, and see the potential for big money down a short road. I'm not driven by money, just the things i can do with it, and aviation is not cheap venture. I'm getting resistance from people close to me for leaving a good job with great money, to go to school, for an industry that suffers and pilots are abused. They tell me about people they know that are in the industry that dont like it, or are leaving it.
    I want to hear the truth here, about how thinks really work in life.

I have the choice of setting myself back 4 years in my new career, so that I can get my ratings, and a degree (really not that useful)
    or
    Stay in my career, make money, and have to pay for my ratings, and take who knows how long to complete the ratings I seek.

screw the school, go 61 and save a lot of money and time.
    The winner isn't the person with the most gold when they die, but rather, the person with the most stories.

As a mid-career airline pilot I question my choice of careers everyday. Pushing the thrust up for takeoff and landing again is tough to beat. Being gone and all the crazy ups and downs of the industry...not so great.