Thread: Upper Kenai Opener - Recommended Patterns

Default Upper Kenai Opener - Recommended Patterns

I will going down to the Upper Kenai opener Saturday and will be floating it (cataraft) in search of my first Kenai hog. I am fairly new to fly fishing (3 years) and even newer to the Kenai (a few fall/winter hike-ins, floated it last opener due to lack of Russian reds).

I grew up in the valley and fish primarly the Parks streams so I am wondering what are the recommended fly patterns to fish at this time of the year. I have been told everything from smolt to eggs to flesh. It seems a little late for smolt and early for eggs or flesh but that is why I am here.

I read these forums quite often and have learned a ton from them. Please help me out.

I haven't fishing the kenai on the opener or for that matter early in the year but this year i plan to. I bet streamer patterns will work, nymphs and its not to late for smolt.

oh god. this should be good..........

Quote Originally Posted by fishak24 View Post
    oh god. this should be good..........
    awe come on B help the guys out........ a little...............lol

oh god what? just trying to help someone out.

Ill help. Beadhead hares ears, egg sucking leeches, glow bugs, smolt patterns, small stones that should point ya in the right direction for bows. oh and dolly llamas. good luck
    -Tight Lines & head shakin

Quote Originally Posted by Matt24 View Post
    oh god what? just trying to help someone out.
    Yep, for some reason some of the self-described experts hate to help a fella new to the river out. Pathetic. Wet waders, Slack lines and missed fish to you dudes.