Thread: Is this the right boat

Default Is this the right boat

I am new to Alaska and would like to do a little Halibut fishing but mostly explore the bays and coast line of Ressurection and Prince William Sounds.

I have the opportunity to purchase a 26' Woolrige, 454 jet, with power controls fore and aft, magellan GPS, depth sounder, and ratheon radar. The boat is located in Seattle.

Is this a good boat for these waters? The cabin is huge and would allow overnight camping. it also has a winch on the back which is normally used to raise crab traps but I could use it to lift halibut aboard.

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Post the for sale link.
    Tennessee

Sounds like a good heavy boat, but I don't think the 454 jet is to your favor. Jets in the salt are most often used by commercial boats that work with nets. Otherwise they are innefficent and offer 1/3 less power that a prop. Also, in cetain conditions with the water, you may have cavitation issues. Others on here may have a different opinion and will likely chime in.
    We never really grow up, we only learn
    how to act in public

I don't think there is a link but I will check. The owner wants to trade for my Hunter H26 sailboat at the marina there.

Hard to say w/o looking at the boat, but a 26' aluminum cabin cruiser is generally a very good setup for the waters you are looking at, provided it is a semi-v with a high bow and freeboard. However my preference in a boat that sized would be for twin prop outboards, not an inboard jet. It sounds like more of a river boat than an ocean boat. A 454 with the ineficiency of a jet is going to be a serious gas hog, and you should find out what size fuel tank the boat has. My thinking is an ocean boat should have a fuel tank big enough to hold fuel for 10 hours of opperation at cruising speed.

I don't know that you'll have alot of use for a winch hauling up halibut, but if it's a pot puller, get a set of shrimp pots for PWS.