Thread: PWS Shrimping Ethics and Soak Time

Default PWS Shrimping Ethics and Soak Time

I donít think I know enough to draw any conclusions (I'm a newbie shrimper), so I thought I would ask you with more experience for your opinion. There are a number of recreational shrimpers that leave their pots out most of the summer and pull them whenever they happen to get there. I think most of this happens in passage canal, but I have heard of other areas too. In view of a number of threads saying that the harvest is declining, do you think this practice is wasting the resource? Do you think some shrimp are wasted to starvation or octopus when pots are pulled once a week or whatever? If so, do you think regulations should include a maximum soak time?

I don't think it has a serious effect on the resource, a pot is only going to pull in shrimp from a small surrounding area. If an octopus or two gets in and clears out the occasional pot, to me it's a zero net gain on the biomass. As far as shrimp starving to death when stuck in a pot for an extended period of time, I haven't heard of that being an issue. You'd be suprised at how well shrimp can escape a pot, and I believe the water has a fair bit of nutrients to keep shrimp allive for some time in a pot.

My understanding is most of the sets you see in passage canal close to Whitier are locals. I think most weekend boaters figure the risk of somebody stealing their gear and/or their catch offsets the gain of some shrimp during extended soaks and hence people leaving their gear out isn't that common of a practice.