Thread: Sea Sick Meds.

Default Sea Sick Meds.

I have been using prescription Scopace for several years now.
    I think it works better than any non prescription medication.
    I do not get sleepy with this. I do not get sea sick any more.
    It comes in either a 3 day patch or a pill that works for about 8 hours.
    I like the pill. The patch has side effects like dry mouth that I do not like.
    Do a Google search on Scopace and read more about this.
    Ken (Tiderunner)

Scopalamine is a God send for me!!! I LOVE to fish the salt, but without the scope patch I will puke all day in a 2 ft swell!! I have been out on some rough ocean down here in Oregon with the patch on and have been 100%. I love it!

Fortunately it takes a big rolling swell and fog so I can't see the horizon for me to feel queezy.

That said my wife isn't so fortunate, and she found on our last trip that Bonine pills really help her out, and no drowsiness.
    Those that are successful in Alaska are those who are flexible, and allow the reality of life in Alaska to shape their dreams, vs. trying to force their dreams on the reality of Alaska.

If you have a tenuous grasp of reality, Alaska is not for you.

When I started commercial fishing back in 1965 .... it didn't take long to figure out I had a sea sick problem. I tried everything available over the years with marginal to poor success. Then came Scopalamine behind the ear patch ..... problem solved. Side affects vary from one person to the next. For me ..... mostly dry mouth. Some people claimed blurry vision. Learned early on not to dig the patch off at the end of the day and then put that same finger in your eye ..... huge dilated pupil ..... very light sensitive. Also learned that cutting a patch in half with scissors and just using half worked pretty darn good with reduced side affects. Put the patch (or half a patch) on the night before for best results.