Thread: Dan wesson, kimber, les Baer.....

Default Dan wesson, kimber, les Baer.....

High quality 1911? Which do you prefer and why? I am a rifle shooter so I need help here. I have owned many revolvers and semi .22 pistols and even a Desert Eagle. But I have no experience on 1911 style pistols. Looking at 10mm or 45 and shooting mild loads to max loads. Can 1 auto pistol do all that without changing components?

Dan
    It is nice to know that there are "ALASKANS" out there, no matter where they live.

I have a Kimber in 10MM that shoots 10 shot groups of 2 5/8" at 55 yards. (Me is moocho happy with that).

I believe Moderator Murphy owns a Les Baer pistol and has probably shot it a bit. If he does not jump in here send him a PM and see what he recommends. Les Baer 1911's are probably at or near the top of the 1911 family. Just bring lots of cash with you when you go to buy one. Years ago we got my son-in-law one of the early Kimber 1911 Govt. Models, since he had the nerve to take my beloved daughter from me I explained to him his responsibility to protect her. It is a very good pistol and shoots better then we can. Seems like about every major manufacture is making a 1911 .45 pistol. The full size 10mm pistol round has impressive ballistics for a pistol round, yet for what I want a pistol for the .45 is my personal choice.