Thread: i'm done maybe take a year off and are we baiters part of the problem

Default i'm done maybe take a year off and are we baiters part of the problem

I have been hunting unit 7 for blackies for 20 years over bait. It seems at first when we started baiting we dealt with a grizzly sporatically. Lat year I had so many blacks and grizzlies it was crazy . We have killed 2 small blacks this season however I have been overwhelmed with grizzlies. I had 60 pictures on my trail cam for the past week 59 grizzly pics and one black bear.

Of these that are hitting 2 are sows with cubs one this years set the other last years plus 2 single sows and 3 separate boars and a couple sow and boar.

So from what i see 13 grizzlies it is just too risky to keep hunting it for now. I don't want someone hurt .

This started me thinking that maybe as baiters we are helping the grizzly problem expand in a couple different ways.

First off we are supplying an easy food source so that the young get the protein and everything they need before the fish hit and increasing their changes of survival.

We are killing the blacks that also go after food they eat. ( next year we can kill 3 but no browns how does this make any sense?)

Some baiters shoot at the browns to scare them and also yell at them but they never are hurt by it so they lose fear right before they hit the river. Gunshots don't scare them neither do our voices.

They come back to our sites each year and train more bears.

So i just wonder if we in effect growing what we don't want.

I love baiting but am considering skipping a year so there is no food and perhaps that won't help but maybe?

I am all for baiting and love it I think the management of the unit 7 grizzlies is done poorly and someone is going to get hurt that may be just an innocent.

I really believe there are too many bears in the Cooper landing area and that ADFG is trying to make the Russian and Kenai have more bear viewing opportunities.