Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why is a Glock such Mystery?

Default Why is a Glock such Mystery?

Why do so many folks not understand the Glock pistol?

It is just a different way of doing things in modern times, with modern materials and modern machinery.

Yeah it looks ugly and sounds funny when you dry fire. It feels like the grips were shaped from a 2x4 only uncomfortable. It is ugly and has the worst single action trigger on the planet. Other than that, it is one helluva fine sidearm. It's very reliable and accurate, durable and user friendly. It leaves funny tracks in the primer and its rifling isn't really rifling at all, come to think of it, it is weird.....and misunderstood.
    Is there nothing so sacred on this earth that you aren't willing to kill or die for?

No idea Murphy... I started shooting a Glock sometime in the mid-90s about the same time I picked up shooting in the fledgling IDPA. I was pretty experienced with revolvers and had some experience with other makes of autos.

Once I finally got the hang of the Glock, which in retrospect meant unlearning all the peculiarities of other pistols, it was a beautiful thing. Fast, Accurate, Almost Indestructible.

I caught heck from a bunch of the other guys at the range but my scores were better (often MUCH better), I had fewer failures despite a lackluster cleaning program. I shot loads of cheap ammo that other folks would cringe at. Since then, every time I've went Glock-less I've soon rectified that by buying another.

IMHO to understand a Glock you can't be too much of a gun wonk tinkerer- you just have to forget about it and shoot it. A lot.

I did not know that there was a mystery around them.