Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best way to retrieve Jetcraft stranded in shallow river?

Default Best way to retrieve Jetcraft stranded in shallow river?

Hi-

My wife and I have been jetboating for a few years now on the Delaware River and are new owners of a 2125 Jetcraft...Our old 14' Outbard Jet was easy...we could just pick it up and move it to deeper water.. BUT, the new boat is heavy and while I do not anticipate a beaching I woulld like to hear any of your ideas on how to self rescue....I was thinking sand anchor and portable winch but I know there has got to be another way..

Thanks for any advice,

Mike and Keri

From what I've learned on this forum, as TJM would put it, "friends." Some other preferred methods I've seen and heard of include: hi-lift jack, come-along, rope-along and a couple hundred feet of rope, Pull-pal, and a large parachute. Personally, I carry a shovel, a come-along, rope, and a 2x4 for leverage. A couple forum members at our spring gathering also had electric winches they could mount to a 2" receiver in either the front or rear of their boats. Another option is wheels that can be attached to brackets on the transom.
    NRA Life Member, Prior F-16 crew chief.

Quote Originally Posted by palasz View Post
    Hi-

My wife and I have been jetboating for a few years now on the Delaware River and are new owners of a 2125 Jetcraft...Our old 14' Outbard Jet was easy...we could just pick it up and move it to deeper water.. BUT, the new boat is heavy and while I do not anticipate a beaching I woulld like to hear any of your ideas on how to self rescue....I was thinking sand anchor and portable winch but I know there has got to be another way..

Thanks for any advice,

Mike and Keri
    For the Delaware River I would look at using a parachute, a rope winch and a good anchor, hi lift jack and get a couple of basketballs with air pump.