Thread: Tips for running rivers

Default Tips for running rivers

I have held off from posting this thread for awhile. The reason being is most likely the answers would be simple. Something akin to shallow water jet boating questions in the power boating section. I figured, eventually I'd finally launch my canoe on a river and just give it a go. Basically I just haven't got around to it. This summer I'd like to give it a try.

My gut yells me it won't be a big deal. I have plenty of river boat experience, I have ran the same canoe and outboard before I could legally drive in lakes and slow creeks. So put the two together I think I will do just fine.

I decided I will throw this out there and maybe pick up a few pointers. My setup is an older 17' osagian with an 8hp suzuki long shaft. The transom is raised my a non adjustable metal plate to get the prop in a better below the transom position. The outboard has a dol-phin to keep the bow from pointing at the moon. The combo rides fast and flat. Nimble on the water but things turn dangerous if the dol-phin looses lift. On the lakes and creeks I know this boat well and I confident with it.

Anyways, tips and tricks for the rivers might be a fun read.

Water Gremlin,

When your canoe is on step, will it make sharp turns with rapid reversals either left or right? What causes the dol-phin to loose lift? Aerated water? Something else?

air under the dolhin, you are running with it very close to the top of water, this will happen every time when we push to the max , the only way to stop it is to put the eng. down some , or don't make sharp turn' s or live with it , if you drop the eng down in 1/4 inch steps you will see a lot of differance at each step, you just have deside what you want for performace, or slow down,,,,,,,