Thread: Fletchings and Jigs?

Default Fletchings and Jigs?

I am currently in Iraq. I have lost a few fletchings do to poor shots and need advice on what to get to fletch my own arrows.

I shoot a Bowtech Destroyer 350 set at 70 lbs with Carbon Express Piledriver arrows with currently 3 in offset vanes.

I am looking at Quick spin 2 in ST Speed Hunter Vanes. Has anyone used these before and are they good?

I have never done this before so what is the best equipment for the money? Glue? and anything else needed?

If you are going to use the Quick Spins all you need is a straight Fletch cause if you use any angle you can get unstable flight. I use them, there make sure you really clean the surface or they wont stick for long. As far as Fletchers you cant go wrong with Bitzenburger. Good luck its alot of fun making your own.

If you buy a Bitzenburger you will never have to buy another one. I have 7 of them and 5 of them are are somewhere in the neighborhood of 25-30 years old ( I bought used) and they work as if they were new.

Since you are overseas, size and weight on packages can be a problem. I would seriously consider a Arizona Fletcher for 2" vanes. It is a very simple, one arrow at a time jig that works great if you are patient...don't get in a hurry. Prep you arrow correctly and insert a nock, insert arrow into jig. Place your vanes into the slots, use a thin line of the right glue for the vane and shaft, then close the jig. A few minutes later you can remove the arrow and go on to the next. Let the arrow cure over night.

I am shooting Beman carbon arrows that I use a little sandpaper to. I am using 2" Blazer vanes and a Arizona Fletcher. I love the results. My only problem was in the beginning I used way to much glue, yeck!