Thread: 19XX Grayling with Volvo Penta 255A I/O Jet....help?

Default 19XX Grayling with Volvo Penta 255A I/O Jet....help?

Long story short; I cam into possesion of an older aluminum 22' grayling river boat that probably hasn't been run since 2009. Guy who owns it doesn't use it and gave me some basic info on it but nothing other than length and boat manufaturer (Grayling). Its got a Volvo Penta "255A" inboard engine that doesn't have any tags or identification plates that I can locate, with a jet unit of unknown manufature (Kodiak? Hamilton? Symbol on unit looks like a wave or "C") . Some numbers are forged onto the metal of the engine (see photos) but that's about it.

I should also probably mention that I have NO previous experience with inboard engines or jet units, but am familiar with the basics of an internal combustion engine and the jet drive.

First off, anyone know how specific I can get with an engine only knowing the model (255A) instead of the serial # which doesn't seem to be on the block? Do the numbers and letter in the second photo tell me anything about this engine (the GM under the number?)? I've been looking around the inter-webs and haven't found alot of good advice aside from "read the serial # off the plate attaced to the block" for this sort of thing. Also, do any of the photos have distinctive characteristics that tip off someone as to a decade-ish estimate of when this thing was made? I'm assuming late 80's but thats just a shot in the dark. Could have been 1999 for all I know.