Thread: Short time in Alaska....where to explore/camp?

Default Short time in Alaska....where to explore/camp?

Hi Everyone,

My name is Mark, and I'm new to the board. I am a wildlife biologist from Ontario who happened to pick up a month long contract in Hooper Bay doing waterfowl research....after which I plan to spend 7-10 days seeing more of Alaska. I'll be flying in and out of Anchorage. I'm looking to find an area where I can virtually hike and camp exclusively....I'm trying to cut down on costs as much as possible. Does anybody have any input on recommended camping locations, shuttle services....anything that will set me on my way for planning? I realize this is a broad and fairly vague criteria, but really any information on camping and exploring locations/regulations/transportation would be of great help.

Regards,

Mark

Quote Originally Posted by mreade View Post
    I'm looking to find an area where I can virtually hike and camp exclusively....Mark
    You will find that all of the trails are on one side of the creek. If you cross the creek, you will be putting your feet on land that may have never been trod my any man.

Alaska's full of great places to explore, but I generally recommend first time visitors stick to the relatively developed areas of Chugach State Park, Chugach National Forest, and maybe the Mat-Su Valley, all pretty close to Anchorage. By developed, I just mean that there are discernable trails, signage, and a few guidebooks - like you'd find in national forests in the rest of the country. You could realistically take a cab to Glen Alps Trailhead and backpack for 7-10 days on the interconnected trails and open tundra out there, and not nearly see all the park has to offer. Aside from Flattop, none of the trails are really crowded. There's an excellent map of the park, published by IMUS I believe that clearly shows the established trails, and even the known routes (!) within the park.