Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best weapon for predator protection....

Question Best weapon for predator protection....

Hey all.

I have been in a bit of a quandary regarding the appropriate weapon for my protection when I am out hiking any and everywhere, kayaking, camping, and fishing rivers and creeks. I’ve heard that weapons are not always successful in stopping a charging bear if they really want someone---however, it seems the wise thing to do to err on caution’s side rather than having nothing.

I do NOT have a hunting background, although, ‘back in the day’ I target shot with my dad, and my son shot a few deer on my Washington farm. I gutted, skinned, and butchered his kill because he struggled with the blood afterward. Since I worked in the OR for many years I didn’t have any issues with blood so it was a team effort. BUT--- Gutting critters does NOT a protected woman make.

I have been up here for two years and, even though I have extensive outdoor experience in Washington, I had never felt endangered without a weapon prior to coming ‘home’ to Alaska. Now here, it seems a wise thing to have protection. One problem in my wavering for two years is that I still have mixed emotions on firearms in general at times… Just bein’ honest!!! It’s the old…”no one gets shot if there is no weapon,” mom part of me I suppose.

Last year I was looking into short barreled shotguns that would take plugs and shot, and I think it was a Remington that I almost got but I can’t recall the model. It held quite a number of plugs/shot(???) with one in the barrel----I remember that much.

Does this gun ring a bell with anyone? If so does it seem like a good choice for a woman and for the territory? Or, can anyone recommend a good one???? I have allowed this ‘no gun’ issue to keep me from going to places I would otherwise love to go. I generally am with my dogs but not always others, and it just seems wise to carry something.