Thread: River sled advice

Default River sled advice

So I am looking to get a river sled for fishing/exploring up in the valley. I won't be hunting or carrying large loads and will not need to carry more than 3 ppl. I am relatively new to boating so forgive me if I don't know the lingo or ask silly questions.

I found a 18' North River center console on CL today. It has a 1987 Merc 150 outboard jet. I called the guy up and he said the hull had some dings and dents but didn't leak and that the motor ran strong. He has it priced at $4000. I am going to head down tomorrow and test it out, but I wanted to get some opinions on the boat/price. Will this be a good boat to learn on, or should I be looking for something smaller/less powerful? In general, how reliable are late 80's merc outboards? I realize that I am not going to get a gem for $4k, and since I am learning I kind of want a beater anyway. Let me know if I am missing something obvious here.

Thanks a lot!

Have the owner take you out for a spin on the river w/a couple buddies (weight you expect to carry) and see how she performs.
    Offer to pay for the gas and fees associated with the launch, etc.. and spend a good hour or more evaluating the boat.
    Keep an eye on the gauges and RPM's while running, looking for any overheating issues or battery not charging and so on.
    Base your opinion on what you find and don't get too excited and fall in love with it.
    Has it been rebuilt? Is it oil injected or premix? Your demo ride will give you an idea of fuel consumption also, (fill it before you go and then when you return do it again). Take a GPS for a rough estimate of the trip distance and do the math.
    Take a look at the impeller and sleeve, do they look worn? Is the impeller a 4 blade stainless or aluminum (big difference in price and longevity on rivers)?