Thread: kepler bradley lakes, what to use?

Default kepler bradley lakes, what to use?

gonna try it out in the morning. Dont have time to drive all the way to the parks flowing waters. what kinda flys you guys have sucess with this time of year and how are you fishing them?? I'm new to this still water stuff but not at all new to fly fishing
    thanks

Nymphs, ESLs, woolie buggers, the medium sized fish aren't that picky.
    I did pretty well Sunday with a purple crystal bugger in size 6 and red copper johns in size 12. I didn't get anything over 20 inches, but quantity has a quality of it's own :-)

Sent from my GT-P1010 using Tapatalk

are you swiming the bugger is just letting it fall. on the nymphs same deal, swiming or falling and you using a strike indicator or anything?

Quote Originally Posted by Griffin4590 View Post
    are you swiming the bugger is just letting it fall. on the nymphs same deal, swiming or falling and you using a strike indicator or anything?
    I was basically letting the nymphs just drift down on a short leader (about 5 ft with a 5x tippet), floating line 3wt, and occasionally nudging them a bit. The strikes were usually in 10 to 20 seconds, so they never hit bottom. I've never tried an indicator. I imagine it would help keeping the nymph off the bottom on a longer leader. Trying to keep an 18" rainbow out of the woodpile is a blast on a 3wt.

The crystal bugger was on a 5wt with a single small split shot. I'd let it sink most of the way down and then strip it back with short irregular strips. They would follow it about half the way back bumping it before striking.

My featherchucking skills aren't worth a hill of beans, but the fish were just as eager to take a fly as the bait people were using nearby.

I'll probably be bobbing around out on Kepler tomorrow if the wind isn't too high.

Guess im a retard cause i got skunked. I fished mostly around down trees along the shore on the kepler side. what the heck am i missing man?