Thread: Eagle River Area

Eagle River

Default Eagle River Area

We recently moved to Eagle River and I'm fairly new to the available hiking options. I'm looking to branch out a bit beyond the Baldy and Highland Rd trails that we do WAY too much. Any suggestions on other scenic hikes? Mountains? Short drives to access? The more wildlife the better as we're amateur Alaskan animal photographers.

Supporting Member Gr is for Greg's Avatar

Mile High Saddle and Mount Magnificent are good ones. You can access it a couple of different ways, but I think the best is taking Mile High Road off Eagle River Road and just start going up the switchbacks. You'll see a small parking lot toward the top that takes you to a little tower with a small structure inside a chain link fence. The trail goes up behind that. It's south-facing at first, so it should be clean and clear and even mostly dry. Once at the top, go left (west) for a short but fun little unnamed (I think) peak, or go right for a longer hike that will eventually put you on Mount Magnificent. May be a little tricky with snow at this point, but will be clear soon.

Or, start from Baldy and just keep going. You get first up to the Blacktail Ptarmigan Rocks, then keep going back to hit Roundtop (the name says it all) or Vista, even further back.

In general, I would just recommend getting the Chugach State Park map at REI. It has a great topo map with hiking trails and trail heads indicated. That's more hiking in the greater Anchorage area than you could probably do in several years of doing a different hike every week, seriously. I have found that if that map shows a trail, it's usually a good, safe hiking trail without anything too technical. But of course, be careful...
    My signature is awesome.

Anchorage, AK

Twin Peaks trail at Eklutna Lake. Great views and usually a good supply of sheep to look at.