Thread: New to Hunting

Default New to Hunting

I'm new to hunting. I've never gone hunting before, but when I move to Alaska (April 2012) I want to start hunting and fishing. I need some tips and advice on what kind of gear to get when I move. I am interested in hunting deer and moose. I also read that you can donate the meat that you won't use. Is that true? If so, how does that work?

Quote Originally Posted by calagon75 View Post
    I'm new to hunting. I've never gone hunting before, but when I move to Alaska (April 2012) I want to start hunting and fishing. I need some tips and advice on what kind of gear to get when I move. I am interested in hunting deer and moose. I also read that you can donate the meat that you won't use. Is that true? If so, how does that work?
    Congratulations on your upcoming move. It's great to hear someone wants to take up hunting and fishing. Both are great hobbies and they have much to offer to you in the ways of fun, relaxation, education, etc.

Where are you moving in AK? The state is too big to provide one list of necessary items. There are minimal equipment needs, but I'd not get too wrapped up in buying a bunch of gadgets in the beginning. Normal hiking items (first aid kit, compass, boots, etc.) will be helpful as you begin the process. I'd recommend that you find someone (perhaps several someones) that will mentor you for the first couple of years. Others have and certainly you could learn to hunt without hands on instruction, but it is quicker and in AK it's much safer to have a proficient partner with you while afield.