Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chucking weight?

Default Chucking weight?

I was fishing with a Dolly Llama for the first time today. I had some trouble with casting it. The weight made it difficult for me to load the rod in my back cast. Disclaimer, I am a poor fly caster to begin with. I basically wound up stripping the fly back at the end of my drift and than trying it shoot it out the line coiled at my feet on each cast. Any tips? It felt like a weird way to fish.

What weight rod were you using

9' 6wt. El Cheapo Cabela's brand I bought 15 years ago.

Im no expert but go on you tube and watch the essence of fly casting there should be a couple videos especially watch the double haul one .It's old but he knows what he is doing

If you are bad at casting I would do some more casting without the dolly llama as that is a hard fly to cast. Maybe a wolly bugger or ESl until you get a better feel of it all. Smaller flys are easier to cast.

Some tips for casting heavy stuff.

Make sure you're using the whole rod, not just the tip.
    Slooooow down. Especially on the backcast, make sure you feel that tug back there.
    Minimize false casting.
    Drop your tip early, avoids a lot of rod smacking; the big ass fly isn't going to land pretty anyway, so go ahead, drop that tip.

As you progress, you will learn to open up the loop. Casting heavy flies can't be done well with nice tight loops, you need to open up the loop, meaning your rod tip has to travel FARTHER than normal. More of an oval-ish pattern. This "cast" probably has some sexy name... but the gist is there. You can over-emphasize this by doing the backcast sidearm, and the forward cast normally.

Don't be a ***** on the forward cast. Use some muscle. Not enough, and when something goes wrong that llama will bonk you in the noggin.

My .02

Edit: OR, get a rod designed to chuck heavy things. Makes a world of difference.