Thread: Headed to Kotz

Eagle River, Alaska by way of Mobile, Alabama

Default Headed to Kotz

So, I graduated from UAA yesterday!! Wohoo! Now I can focus on finishing my PPL. I'm scheduled to fly three days a week through June. If that amount of time doesn't get me my PPL...I may need to give up!

I've accepted a job in Kotzebue and will be moving there the last of July. Does anybody know of a plane rental there? I'm so afraid that I'll get my PPL, move to Kotz and not be able to fly. Certainly there's a way to fly up there?! I've teased that I'd have to buy my own plane...maybe it's not such a joke

As far as I know, there are no aircraft rentals or flight schools in Kotzebue. You might consider starting a flying club there.

Youuuuuu'llllllll beeeee sorrrryyyyyyyy!!! Ha!

You might be able to work something out with the small aviation companies up there- There's Baker Aviation and I'm spacing out on the other one. Probably more than that, but I've flown those two into Red Dog. My fiance's cousin came up here a few years back and decided her dream was to become a bush pilot- she got licensed and then started flying cargo and then people up in Northern Alaska.
    "If snowmachiners would adopt the habits of riding one at a time and not parking at the base of avalanche prone slopes, the number of fatalities would likely be whittled by at least a third, if not by half." ~ Jill Fredston, in the book Snowstruck, In The Grip Of Avalanches.

Ram Aviation works out of Kotz doing fly-out hunting. They might be good folks to saddle-up-to...
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

That would be a good place to have your own. Even if you took a cheap 150 or something, it would be worth it.

Look and ask, , I've heard of alotta people getting in hours and such, so it can happen, just ask around .