Thread: Raft Size

Default Raft Size

Well -- I am new to this-- usually I just read forums and never sign up to post --BUT -- I have been impressed with the information and friendlyness of this site and thought I would give it a shot.

My better half and I have been searching for rafts and finally decided that a round boat was the way to go over a cataraft-- we will use it for drift fishing but I want the availability to do some float hunting. The catarafts were just overall to heavy for an older guy in somewhat good shape. this coupled with the lack of ability to float hunt shallower rivers with hopefully a heavy load of gear and animal made the round boat an obvious better choice.

With all of that said --- what is the opinion poll of a 14 foot raft to haul two hunters with gear and animals down a river-- and I am not talking about a deep river like the Keni but it does not have to be a trickle stream either

Look forward the the opinions and debate that may ensue--- obviously the 16 footer is the obvious choice just want to see what the thought of making a 14 footer work.

Drag out your fishing gear and hunting packs as the season draws near-- can not wait

You cant go wrong with a 15' raft for hunting with two folks - gear - food- and animal parts. 14' would be overloaded and 16' turns into a MONSTER on small rivers, with its width and 10' oars. The longer - more narrow "new age" hunting boats made by SOTAR and SOAR, two totally different companies, are another good option. And don't rule out non-bailing rafts- they cary more weight - cost less - roll up better - and weigh much less than self bailers and have worked well for many years before SB rafts were born.
    Just my thoughts.
    Goo

power commuting twixt the valley and anchorage

It has been said more than once, two hunters with two moose in a 14 footer is a bad idea. What are you planning on hunting?