Thread: Recommendations for Environmental Consulting Firms

Default Recommendations for Environmental Consulting Firms

Presently in Canada's Capital, but would like to make my way up north. My background is in the environmental consulting field, and I'd like to know whether anyone has first hand knowledge of some of the local employers.

Just found the jobs wanted forum so left something there too.

Where are you looking to settle? Jacobs engineers in anchorage is usually staffing up this time of year. Shannon & Wilson in anchorage has some legal problems looming that could put a crimp in their work for the city. I work for a small company on the Kenai peninsula we just filled our last opening for the summer season a few weeks ago. Check out the statewide listings at www.jobs.state.AK.us
    Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day,
    Teach a man to fish and he'll also learn to drink, lie, and avoid the honey do list.

SLR started their serious north american operations up here in Anchorage. The local firm and the head dude in WA are Brits. Good people and former coworkers.

Oasis started up here in the 1990's and expanded to the states. Good people and former coworkers.

URS still has a local office and access to larger DoD contracts. Don't know anyone there anymore.

CH2M Hill has a large office up here with access to large DoD contracts.

Shaw Group has an office up here and are doing something for someone, maybe, but who can tell.

There are some other national firms that have small offices up here to handle contract specific requirements for local hire.

There are several Alaska Native Corporations that have Environmental or Construction Engineering subsidiaries.

Bristol Companies
    Ahtna Engineering
    Bethel Services
    Northwind (CIRI)
    Marsh Creek (?)

There are others but I don't work with them so I don't have much to offer.