Thread: Moose Sheds

Default Moose Sheds

Hello..I am a wildlife artist, and I really want to do some antler carving. I am pretty new to Alaska. I have done ALOT of shed hunting in Arizona for elk and coues deer. I want to get out and pick up some moose sheds. My question is, do the bulls winter in river bottoms? Canyons? In people's back yards in Anchorage? I would like some advise on what type of areas to focus on. Maybe they are like all the other antlers I have picked up and they "are where the are"! I drove to Copper Center the other day, and there is ALOT of country up North here! If anyone could give me any pointers, that would be cool. Or, if anybody would like to team up for a shed hunt, that would be way cool to! If we did well, there might be a moose antler carving in it for you!

Go to the hide and horn auction at fur rondo and buy 'em. Of course that does not help you for another 10 months or so. As far as shed hunting... Man this ain't Arizona, you could spend a week straight looking and not find one. Just spend time outdoors and if you bump into one, great, but don't make that your only focus or it will be discouraging

Roughly where are you.......in Alaska.....???

Well....I am not in Alaska, I am in Anchorage!

Actually, I will take Anchorage anyday over where I came from! I have been here almost a year now, and have loved every second of it!

Quote Originally Posted by outrider View Post
    Well....I am not in Alaska, I am in Anchorage!
    WOW, You got that correct........We pick-up a lot of dead Goat Horns (Avalanche kills) and Moose drops, in the area across from Johnson Pass trail head, there is a huge cleared area, and avalanche run'out that has what you quest. It is directly across from the winter recreation thingie. (Just a guess, but maybe mile 64'ish Seward Hwy.)

Have found some "Hog" Moose drops & some 10"+ dead Goats. Good luck.