Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sheep hunt.. dont leave home with out it ?

Default Sheep hunt.. dont leave home with out it ?

Planning my first sheep hunt, so I am a rookie, have read and took notes, what things do you just never leave home with out? Besides the essentials. what are the tricks to get out of a bind when your 20 miles in and not blow the hunt with that missing ....

Quote Originally Posted by jonnyb View Post
    Planning my first sheep hunt, so I am a rookie, have read and took notes, what things do you just never leave home with out? Besides the essentials. what are the tricks to get out of a bind when your 20 miles in and not blow the hunt with that missing ....
    If you are in the Fairbanks area I could show you some gear and chat.

"I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

I don't claim to be some sort of expert sheep hunter, but I do spend a fair amount of time (often 100+ days/yr) in the field for work and play. I've forgotten darn near everything in my pack at some point. Very rarely does a single gear item ruin or save a trip. Based on my experience, the critical things to bring are:

1. Attitude - "Never-say-Die"

2. Backcountry Experience

3. Patience - You don't want to take stupid risks and get hurt, or alternatively get frustrated and go home early.

Those three items + warm clothing will keep you in the field. And being able to stay in the field is critical to closing the deal on a hunt.

Yk

Go slow and think things through. Don't be in a big huff to get something done or go somewhere. Don't go up/down the mountain when it's snowing and the fog is practically on the ground.....

Other than that take alot of pictures and have fun
    "Ya can't stop a bad guy with a middle finger and a bag of quarters!!!!"- Ted Nugent.

Always have First Aid supplies for your feet!!
    mole skin, bandages, etc..