Thread: alexander lake pike

Default alexander lake pike

My dad is coming up this summer. I think it would be fun to fly out to Alexander lake for the day and fish for pike. I have never done this before. I looked around a little bit and the only ones I see that do this is Rust's and Willow Air. Is one better than the other? What about the fishing? I have never fished for pike before. It would be in mid July. Thanks for any info.

both Rusts and Willow are long time reputable air taxis.. Altho most any thing flashy will attract pike, to enjoy the total pike experience you need to use some top water lures... a rubber mouse, or frog, or if you can find one, a mouse made out of hollow deer hair... lite tackle is best, but medium will work... Enjoy...

After 3 trips there this is what I think:
    1. Take lots of wire leaders; 6" will be fine, not too heavy (12-15 lb test fine)
    2. Cheap spinning rods with 12 lb line fine (lake WILL be weedy, more than you can imagine that time of year)
    3. Big fish close to shore, cast lures into/onto pads, weed beds
    4. Take Johnson silver minnow weedless spoons (unbeatable first trip)
    topwater frogs, mice, spinner baits; all rigged weedless (unbeatable 2nd trip); not as good a hookup ratio as hard lures
    Cabela's Mad Tommy frogs; rigged weedless; (unbeatable 3rd trip)
    Herring if you want to kill fish (you should); toss one out with a bobber
    5. Do you know how to clean/fillet a pike removing the "y" bones? if not, learn before you go! this is important
    6. We were encouraged by ADFG to keep as many small pike as possible; check regs, we kept about 60 or so each trip below 19"
    7. We released the big ones (biggest was 42" i believe)
    8. Heard about nuts mosquitoes but think I got one bite for 3 trips out there, still took mosquitoe suit every time.
    9. Be ready for a slime-fest if you're gonna keep fish