Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: King Leaders....?

Default King Leaders....?

Question about leaders for King trolling?
    First off, I am a novice and just trying to be prepared when we head to Homer in late May.
    Wondering what to use for leaders from the flasher?

I was going to use some 30# spiderwire, but was advised to use mono, also was told not to use to a real heavy mono as it can affect the flasher............?

What do you guys say.............? Thanks......!
    “Nothing worth doing is easy”
    TR

I use #40-#50 mono for leaders, in lengths from 30"-48". That is a pretty common practice amongst the guys i fish with.
    Some folks will use an additional 20" or so of #100 when using a bechold (sp?) flasher, as they can sometimes tangle in the leader when playing a fish. I have never bothered and can't recall any fish that that's cost me.
    All leader variations will affect the action of the flasher, but who is to say that you won't discover the hot combo while you are experimenting with your set-up?
    That's half the fun!!!
    Alaska Board of Game 2015 tour... "Kicking the can down the road"
    http://www.alaskabackcountryhunters.org/

I like to use 30# maxima mono for all my king leaders, when sport fishing.

Thanks guys, it was also recommended to use a 100 foot mono "topshot", I have some type of braided line for the main line.........?
    Whats yer thoughts for this "Topshot"..........?
    TR

I like to use a mono topshot, but nothing like 100', more like 5-10'. With a 100' topshot, you pretty much loose all the advantage of braid, i.e. the sensitivity due to its lack of stretch. But having some mono at the terminal end for abrasion resistance and to provide some stretch (shock absorbtion) is a good thing, so stick with mono for the leader. Since you'll already have some mono in the leader, I can't see much of an advantage of the topshot. But, if you'll also be using the rod for jigging and bottom fishing, put on a small top shot.