Thread: August trip

Default August trip

I've been browsing the forums here for several months trying to learn as much as I can before I openly post my questions. I'm not looking for any specific "spots", just tell me whether or not I am going in the right direction. I'm a member of a forum like this one out of Charleston, SC and I know the grief some members can dish out when a "newbie" hits the boards so go ahead, I can take it...and ignore it .

My trip is a father/daughter (14), see as much of Alaska as you can and fit in some fishing when the oppurtunity presents itself expedition. Started out as MY fishing trip but it will be so much more than that with her along. Now I just need to find out where driving and fishing cross paths. We fly in to Anchorage, grab an rv I rented, and drive to Seward, Homer, Talkeetna, Cantwell, Paxson, Copper Center (where I hook up with an old college buddy) and back to Anchorage. I have already added extra days to my rental since Alaska is harder to cover than I thought just a few months ago.

I'm a do it yourselfer. I think it's because I enjoy even just a little success doing it on my own...but it could be I'm just stubborn. I am going to buy a couple of the books I have seen referred on other threads (Alaska Roadside Anglers Guide/FlyFishermans Guide to Alaska) and hopefully I can get most of my questions answered there.

My biggest question is this. With that route, providing my own flyfishing stuff (4,6,8 wts) and some spinning rods, will I be around fish I can catch? I know you know nothing about my skill level but I have been fishing my whole life and don't think I would still be doing it if I wasn't catching some here and there.

Thanks for whatever thoughts you have...as long as...nevermind.

No worries there SC, you ain't alone.

Another fella on the forum said awhile back that he "thought that he was slowly running out of stupid questions to ask"