Thread: New to boating.. few questions on which boat to get

Default New to boating.. few questions on which boat to get

I'm new to AK and new to boating as well.. I've used a bass boat, or jon boat here and there but that's about it.. Anyways, I am looking at getting a boat for hunting transportation, possibly drift hunting, possibly duck hunting, and small fishing trips with the wife.

My Budget --- looking for something preferably $2000-$3000, but can spend a little more if I see something I like.. Provided the wife buys off on it

I have mainly been looking at alum. jon boats.. I just wanted to get a few peoples opinions on alum. jon boats VS skiff boats.. What is the difference? Is there something particular I should be looking for in a boat primarily used for river transportation?

Also, on size, say I were hunting with one other guy and we killed a moose, what size boat would I need to have in order to transport it back to the truck? Would a 14' work or should I be looking into 20' boats?

Thanks for all the help!!!

Aluminum jon boats are popular for river travel, they're tough and work well in shallow water. As far as jon boats vs. skiffs, in general jon boats are used on rivers, and skiffs are used in the ocean, as the v-bottom and higher gunnels or designed to handle the swells of the ocean.

You might have a tough time finding a boat suitable to transport a moose in your budget.