Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: bottom types for halibut

Default bottom types for halibut

I'm studying charts for a new area and noticed SH for shell bottom. I know sand and gravel are both good. Are they usually the best in most areas ? How would you guys rate 'shell', 'mud', 'soft', 'hard' bottoms ?

Thanks to all the helpful guys on here.

I've caught them on just about every bottom type except mud/soft bottoms. Gravel and sand are definitely my first picks, but hard bottom isn't bad either if there's bait around. Harder to stay connected to, but some of the fastest action can come next to bull kelp beds, especially on the up-current side. Problem is, they're pretty good at diving back into the kelp when you hook them. Bring lotsa spare gear!

my go-to spot for my halibut skate is a muddy bottom, but I've caught them just about everywhere. The biggest halibut I've caught on rod-n-reel was 280 pounds and I got it on a pinnacle where we fish lings.
    In 1492 Native Americans discovered Columbus lost at sea

If I come across as an arrogant, know-it-all jerk, it's because I am

Hey mapman,

Here is an excerpt from a study done back in '05 by some scientists in Glacier Bay. You can find/read the whole document which includes some charts, graphs, etc of their catch data showing the size of halibut caught in relation to the type of sediment they preferred by copy and pasting "Discovery of 100–160-Year-Old Iceberg Gouges and
    Their Relation to Halibut Habitat in Glacier Bay, Alaska"

It was informative reading to me. In a nutshell TlingitWarrior's post is spot on. Hope this helps your research.

The nitty gritty of the document: (3) Four types of seafloor geologic habitats were identified—(1) bedrock, (2) gouges with sparse fine–sediment
    cover; (3) gouges partly filled with fine sediment; and (4)gouges nearly to totally covered by the fine glacial flour
    (clayey silt).