Thread: Cleaning Kits

Default Cleaning Kits

I spent a day at the range today, and now just spent about 5 hours cleaning guns. I use the Hoppe's cleaning kits, and the birchwood casey bores scrubber, but keep finding copper and lead in my barrels. Does anybody have a recomendation on a really good cleaning kit that can help clean this out of my bores.

Thanks
    Some people call it sky busting... I call it optimism
    "Swans are a gift" -DucksandDogs
    I am a shoveler's worst nightmare!

cr-10 and a a lot of patches.

wipe out works good, I last got it at wild west gun store, M Pro 7 also works well too

I have a lot of experience in cleaning rifle bores and Hoppe's and BW Bore Scrubber don't do jack to get copper out. The best products out there are (for foam soakers) Wipeout and Gunslick Foam Cleaner. For quicker but more labor intensive bore cleaner, nothing beats Bore Tech. It comes in Bore Tech Eliminator, and/ or CU+2 Copper remover and C4 Carbon remover. I use anyone or combination of hese products depending on howquick i need a clean bore. With a factory barrel, to do it right with either is likely to last at least a day if not more,

Follow the directions.

How do these work with removing lead?

As swamp donkey said I use the Barnes CR-10. It will work but it takes some work to make it work. What ever brand you use make sure you clean it out of the bore when you are finished. Some will do harm to the bore if left in there a long time. I would be all ears if somebody knows something that will do better.

for a new rifle i generall use a standard bore cleaner (butch's bore shine, boretech benchrest blend, or shooters choice) followed by jb paste. with a rifle that has been previously owned i like barnes cr10 or montana extreme. ALWAYS follow the instructions and NEVER cross contaminate solvents, as this may (read WILL) damage your bore.