Thread: SOFT smoked/canned salmon?

Default SOFT smoked/canned salmon?

Hi,

Several years ago, a guy that I used to know brought over some home smoked and canned salmon that was soft ...soft enough to mush around on crackers anyway. Excellent stuff. But MY smoked and canned salmon never turns out that way ...great flavor, but the meat tends to firm up rather than stay soft.

My question is this... how the heck do you create a smoked/canned salmon that is SOFT?? Cold smoke? I think that some brine salinities drive water into the meat while others draw it out, no? Maybe the right brine, one that pushed water into the meat, would result in a softer canned product? Anyone? How do you create a soft smoked and canned salmon? I know it can be done ...look at sardines and herring in the can ...very soft. Even if salmon was firmer due to less oil content, it seems that I can do better than what I have been. I'm open to learning...

Thanks,
    Brian

I am by no means an expert but I had a similar problem with a batch of canned smoked salmon last summer. I am pretty sure I just over smoked it. It has a nice flavor but is rather dry. It's good to have a variety so I didn't mind. However, the next batch I did differently, a lot differently and it was the best canned smoked salmon I think we have ever had. I used a sweet and sour brine rather than salty, made with soy sauce, brown sugar and some honey and pineapple juice. I also added just a few chunks of crushed pineapple and a few small slices of hot Thai pepper to each jar before canning. It came out delicious and I will do it again this year for sure. Looking forward to hearing what other folks might have to say and always interested in new recipes too.

Grandma Lori
    If God had intended us to follow recipes,
    He wouldn't have given us grandmothers. ~Linda Henley