Thread: 375 H&H vs 375 Rugar

Default 375 H&H vs 375 Rugar

Hey all Im fairly new to this part of the forum and hope this question hasnt been beaten to death already.
    Im now in the market for a new or used 375 for a nice little trip down to Kodiak to chase the big brown and fuzzy guys. So my question is I know that the H&H has been around and will be around for a long time to come and also the availability of ammo for it is world wide.
    Can you say the same thing for the 375 rugar? I really like the price of this gun and most reviews are pretty good. I guess Im a bit hesitent to get the Rugar thinking that it might end up being one of the "fad" calibers and in a few years it will be nonexistent...
    Thanks in advance for all of your opinions,
    Mike
    Tomorrow isn't promised. "Never delay kissing a pretty girl or opening a bottle of whiskey." E. Hemingway

MJM16, when other manufacturer start building rifles in 375 Ruger you can be more sure. Actually, the Ruger 375 looks so good on paper that it probably make the grade. I hope so anyway. Get yourself a good supply of brass and go for it (I'm assuming thay you reload. If not you are missing a lot of the satisfaction).

MJM316,
    I'd pick up the .375 Ruger without any hesitation. I've had one for a few years and really like it- my Alaskan is hard hitting and quite compact, with good sights.

I think the caliber is here to stay for a couple of reasons... first, any '06 length action can be turned into a .375 Ruger with minimal hassle so the prohibitive cost of producing a full length action isn't there- several other companies are producing rifles in that chambering (Howa and Steyr for example) and I've seen a couple of customs on other actions. Second, the economics of ammo manufacturing have changed dramatically and the volume to be profitable is much lower than it used to be. To date the sales of .375 Ruger ammo have exceeded the sales targets so we can know that its a profitable product for Hornady.